Tecklenburg Award

Harry Tecklenburg was not only a great example of a community leader, but was also a great friend to the Leadership Chenango program. He had a strong belief in the entrepreneurial spirit and championing new ideas. Generous with his time and talents, his commitment to the education of future leaders has had a lasting impact on those who have been through the Leadership program.

In recognition of his achievements and spirit, the Tecklenburg Award is presented at the Leadership Chenango kickoff dinner to a community leader who best represents the legacy of Harry Tecklenburg. The recipient is individual who has demonstrated strong leadership through invaluable service to the community and who embodies the following:

  • the capacity to inspire others
  • a vision for the future
  • high ethical standards
  • a role model/mentor for future leaders
  • a constructive participation in addressing community needs
  • a demonstrated ability to understand and work with people
  • a commitment to a cause
  • an outstanding leadership resource for the community

Past Winners

2017-Martin Dietrich
2015-James Currie
2013-Robert Wadsworth
2011-Daryl Forsythe
2009-Dave Emerson
2007-James Williams
2003-Eric Larsen
2001-Peter Chaplin
2000-Clarence “Rapp” Rappleyea
1998-John Huhtala, Sr.
1996-Ted Hogan
1994-Marylou Stewart

Chamber Events